Asia and Oceania Section

Division: Regions

The main objectives of the Section are to initiate, promote and facilitate the development of library and information services and the library profession within the five sub-regions of Asia and Oceania: West Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia, East Asia and Oceania. The Section works in cooperation with the other Regional Sections and all of IFLA's Sections and Core Activities, especially the Action for Development through Libraries Programme.

Asia and Oceania on Twitter   Asia and Oceania on Facebook   Asia and Oceania on Flickr

Read more

Asia and Oceania, Sections

Last update: 11 November 2019

Latest News

Now Available: IFLA Asia and Oceania Regional Quarterly Newsletter - July 2020 Issue

We present to you the July 2020 issue of our IFLA Asia and Oceania Regional Quarterly Newsletter.

26 July 2020


On World Book and Copyright Day, 23 April 2020, Kuala Lumpur officially becomes UNESCO World Book Capital 2020. It is the 20th city to be named the title as announced by UNESCO Director General Audrey Azoulay on 19 September 2018 on the recommendation by the World Book Capital Advisory Panel that consists of UNESCO, IFLA and International Publishers Association (IPA). Athens, Greece and Sharjah, UAE were the 18th and 19th World Book Capital cities respectively.

19 July 2020

Webinar on 'Information literacy: Knowing the right news in the digital age

The Energy and Resource Institute (TERI) Knowledge Resource Centre in collaboration with International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) Asia & Oceania organised a webinar on 'Information literacy: Knowing the right news in the digital age” on 8 May 2020.

19 July 2020